DAYTON, Ohio — Student teams from Troy High School in Fullerton, California, and Daniel Wright Junior High School in Lincolnshire, Illinois, took top honors at the 33rd Annual Science Olympiad National Tournament at Wright State University on Saturday, May 20, 2017.

“We are proud of the achievements of these winning teams and know their schools and communities will welcome them home like champions,” said Dr. Gerard Putz, Science Olympiad president and co-founder. “These students and teachers exemplify the best America has to offer in science, technology, engineering and math.”

One of the nation’s most prestigious science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) competitions, Science Olympiad brings together 120 winning middle school and high school teams advancing from state-level competitions this spring. Rigorous hands-on and lab events led by experts from government agencies, top universities, industry and Science Olympiad state chapters cover topics in robotics, physics, epidemiology, astronomy, chemistry, meteorology, coding and engineering. A full list of 2017 national tournament award recipients and official tournament results, including event-by-event scoring is posted here:

Other top high school (Division C) winners at the National Tournament include:

– Second: Harriton High School, Rosemont, Pennsylvania

– Third: Solon High School, Solon, Ohio

– Fourth: Northville High School, Northville, Michigan

– Fifth: Mira Loma High School, Sacramento, California

– Sixth: William P. Clements High School, Sugar Land, Texas

– Seventh: Mounds View High School, Arden Hills, Minnesota

– Eighth: Liberal Arts and Science Academy, Austin, Texas

– Ninth: New Trier High School, Winnetka, Illinois

– Tenth: Adlai E. Stevenson High School, Lincolnshire, Illinois
Other top middle school (Division B) winners at the National Tournament include:

– Second: Winston Churchill Middle School, Carmichael, California

– Third: Solon Middle School, Solon, Ohio

– Fourth: Meads Mill Middle School, Northville, Michigan

– Fifth: Beckendorff Junior High School, Katy, Texas

– Sixth: Longfellow Middle School, Falls Church, Virginia

– Seventh: Piedmont IB Middle School, Charlotte, North Carolina

– Eighth: Marie Murphy Middle School, Wilmette, Illinois

– Ninth: Springhouse Middle School, Allentown, Pennsylvania

– Tenth: Paul J. Gelinas Junior High School, Setauket, New York

Winners of the Science Olympiad will be offered scholarships to Wright State. All official members of the first- place team in Division B and Division C will receive a $2,500 scholarship, renewable for four years. In both divisions, the university will also award $1,000 scholarships to the first-place winners of each individual event, also renewable for four years. All awards are subject to admission requirements.

Teams from North Bethesda Middle School in Bethesda, Maryland, and Chattahoochee High School in Johns Creek, Georgia, earned the 2017 Lockheed Martin Spirit Award (including $2,000 for their team), which recognizes schools whose team members exhibit exemplary sportsmanship, teamwork, team spirit and respect that exemplify the spirit of Science Olympiad competition. In addition, Mentor High School from Mentor, Ohio, and Baker Middle School in Troy, Michigan, won the DuPont Team Enterprise Awards, recognizing a breakout performance by a team at the National Tournament.

Rank order for Division B and Division C – May 20, 2017