First Tournament Held in Norman!

This school year’s first Science Olympiad Invitational Tournament took place December 2nd at Washington Irving Middle School in Norman.  14 Division C teams and 17 Division B teams competed in 33 events.

Special thanks to all of the volunteers and STEM professionals without whom Science Olympiad could not continue.  These include our Event Supervisors Jan Watson, Stephen Troy, Ann Williams and Benton Shriver from Putnam City Schools; Aric Sappington and Jake Staats from Casady School; Andrea Melvin from Mesonet, Braden Owsley, Susan Jorgenson, Joy Li, the Pick and Hammer Club from the OU School of Geology and Geophysics, Chris Dalton, and OU’s Science Olympiad Alumni Club; Ann Chou from the OU Health Science Center; Matt Esker from the Sooner Flight Academy at OU; Waylon Troyer from Science Museum Oklahoma;  Travis Hurst from Rose State; Matt Bradbury and Lauren Rickman from UCO; and Jeff Patterson, Kim Heaton, and Matt McCoy from Norman Public Schools.

By the way, if your school is not a member of the Oklahoma Science Olympiad, it’s not too late!  Enrollment for the 2017-18 season ends December 31. Contact Bob Melton, for details.

Putnam City High School group picture with the Irving Cougar


Event Supervisor Braden Owsley from OU’s Landscape Land Use Change Institute completes the Remote Sensing score sheet. (Tournament Scorekeeper Fern Melton in foreground).

The Flying Pig food truck added an alternative to the traditional Science Olympiad pizza fare.